ARPA's logo
Minutes May  20, 2014 Meeting

Meeting of the Arkansas Rifle & Pistol Association

May 20, 2014

Old South Restaurant, Russellville, Arkansas



The meeting was called to order by Chuck Gaines


In attendance were Ken Fairless, Ann Fairless, Mike Nevins, David Joyner, Elizah Wadkin, David McClellan, and Chuck Gaines.


Minutes from last meeting were read and approved as read.


Discussion was held about Open Carry in Arkansas. Suggestion was made for ARPA to come out with a statement on our stance. Such as “Until further legislation, ARPA’s stance is that Act 746 did not enact Open Carry in the state of Arkansas.


Another discussion was held on Stand Your Ground questionnaire to be sent out to our state legislatures. Several suggestions were make and are still in discussion,


A discussion was also held about what to do with the results. David Joyner made a  motion to publish the results.  Ken seconded. All were in favor.  There was a question of what our status is -  whether we are a 501c3 non-profit organization.


David Joyner has our Facebook page set up so it will notify you when things are posted.


David Joyner came to Chuck about ARPA supporting 4-H shooting clubs. Mike made a motion to support 4-H shooting clubs. Ken seconded.


It was voted to order 250 patches for $1.10 a patch. David made motion to do the patches. Nevins seconded. Motion made to do stickers for less than $1.00 a piece. Motion made by David Joyner and Mike Nevins to buy patch and stickers made like the patches and send to all paid up members.


Ann said we need to elect a new vice-president because the present published one is no longer a member. Vacated vice president position will be voted on at next meeting which should be August 31.


June 4 thru 7th.  Competition June 5-7. State range July 10, 11 & 12. Both at Ferndale. We could put up a banner and have a table.


Church recommended we get a banner made for less than $200. Seconded by Mike Nevins. Make banner 32” x 6’. Get two banners if possible.


Chuck recommended the meeting be adjourned. Seconded by Mike Nevins.



Ann Fairless